Ultrasound guided biopsy….or not!

It’s been a while since my last post.

I wasn’t even sure I wanted to write another. I’ve kind of been in a personal funk.

I’m not depressed, by any means. I guess it would be understandable if I was, but I’m not.

I’m not particularly anxious either. I’m more in a ‘can’t really be bothered with it all’ type of state.

In my previous post, I mentioned that the surgical oncologist had booked me in for an ultrasound guided biopsy.

As it turned out, the radiologist couldn’t find anything, with the ultrasound machine, to biopsy. She did however explain that something could be seen on the latest mammogram and the previous one from 5 or 6 years ago. It hadn’t been flagged as suspicious, and in that time, hadn’t changed in shape or size.

So her recommendation was to have a follow up MRI in six months.

When I explained I was considering bilateral mastectomy, because I really wanted this all gone, once and for all. Her personal opinion was to hold off on that, she said ‘they don’t like finding cancer by accident’. My personal opinion on that one is, ‘I don’t care how they find it, as long as they find it, and get rid of it’.

This entry was posted in Breast Cancer Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

