So you have cancer……who cares!!??

Imagine you’ve just got the call from your doctor….your biopsy results are back, it’s positive, you have Cancer!
You are devastated.
Your mind is reeling from the news.
Your world is falling apart.
You have no idea what the future holds.
But one thing you are sure of…there are people who will support you and be there for you.
You have shoulders you can cry on, and you more than likely will cry at some point, and those people will be there for you, supporting you and cheering you on.
You’re sure of it. And that, at least, gives you some hope.

That’s exactly how I felt. I would’ve bet my life on certain people being the first to pick up the phone and tell me I was going to be ok, that cancer sucked and tell me that they were there for me, let me vent to them and show me they were supportive.

I’m sad to say that 95% of them didn’t.

And that hurt….I think even more than the diagnosis itself.
What’s worse is that there is no do-over on this. That lack of support, that lack of love, is undoable.
They will never be able to go back and make me feel better, ever make me feel that they care or that I am important to them, nothing can ever change how I now feel.

I didn’t want to see family members or mutual friends comment on hubby’s Facebook page showing him support, I wanted them to let ME know they were thinking about me.

I was pretty fragile back then, I really, truly needed to know that people cared about me, about me getting through all of this.
And I feel they let me down….BIG time!!!

My support came from my immediate family, my husband and children, and a few people I did not expect it from.
And I am very thankful for that, and for them.

So….if there is a person in your life who has just found out that they have cancer and you truly care about them….LET THEM KNOW!

Let them know that you are there for them, and then BE there for them.
Let them vent, talk, scream and cry at you. Even if you don’t know what to say! If you don’t have the words, say so.…say ‘I don’t know what to say, I can’t imagine what you are going through, but I am here for you’
They need to hear it, your relationship with them really does depend on it. If you truly care about them….show it!
This is one time in their lives that they will never forget, and they won’t forget who helped them through it, and who didn’t!

This entry was posted in Breast Cancer Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

