DCIS – signs and symptoms….

Most of the information available online suggests DCIS is pretty much symptomless.
At the most, the possible symptoms, according to the Mayo clinic,  could be a breast lump or bloody nipple discharge.
I had neither. However, I did have some unusual things happen that now make me wonder if they weren’t symptoms after all.
We have to remember that symptoms of a disease are only known IF they are reported to the medical professionals, and if those professionals take notice.

Back in 2012, when I was seeing my OBGYN leading up to my hysterectomy, he asked if I was having any unusual pain anywhere.
I mentioned that there was a few times that my whole left breast ‘spasmed’, to the point you could actually see the areola and nipple tightly contract. I’d even had my husband witness this because it was freaky weird.
The OBGYN dismissed it.

In the time following the spasms, up to the mastectomy, my breasts became ultra sensitive, very painful (to the point I had to wear a bra to bed) extremely itchy, and once or twice I had a clear, sticky, nipple discharge ( only from the non cancerous breast).

I’d suffered from fibrocystic breasts my whole adult life, and around the week before my period, I would experience some pain, but this was absolutely totally different.
As it turns out, at the time the DCIS was diagnosed, I had zero cysts in either breast.

Now, I’m not a breast cancer expert, and I’m not saying ANY of these were symptoms of my DCIS.
So anyone who happens to read this post and think ‘Yikes! I have those symptoms…do I have breast cancer?’ …DON’T!!!!
But, should you by any unfortunate twist of fate, have those symptoms AND have DCIS or IDC (invasive ductal carcinoma) it might be worth mentioning them to your Breast surgeon, oncologist, or ANY doctor that will listen and take it seriously.
I’m planning on bringing this up to my Breast surgeon, at my next visit also.

If you’ve had /have DCIS, please take a moment and vote on the poll above.
Thank you!

This entry was posted in Breast Cancer Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DCIS – signs and symptoms….

  1. ktarsha1970 says:

    I had no symptoms at all. I went to my ob-gyn for an annual check, and she didn’t see or feel anything (and she’s been my doctor for 9 years, so she knows what’s normal for me). It wasn’t until I had a mammogram a month or so later that they noticed a little something “off” in the left breast, which led, eventually, to the cancer diagnosis.

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      Thats exactly why I’m bugging my daughters to take a mammogram when it’s offered to them. I was always one of the people who figured if I had cancer, there’d be a lump.
      Who had even heard of ‘calcifications’? 😦

      Like

      • ktarsha1970 says:

        Exactly! When my doctor called after the first mastectomy talking about “calcifications,” I thought, “Well, that doesn’t sound so bad!” Pffft. I’m not bugging them, but I have told both my younger sisters that they need to start getting mammograms.

        Like

      • Tracey says:

        That’s what I thought, and micro-calcifications? I mean, in my mind cancer is huge big lumps, not something they have to magnify to see. 😦

        Like

  2. Sarah says:

    I had my first Mamo at 36 due to a lump, biopsy, calacification. At 38, another lump, I just had it removed (no biopsy, don’t think they do that anymore, or they just did it in TN), benign. Stupidly did not have a Mamo again until age 43 (2013), the original radiologist wanted to biopsy left side 4:00, and “watch” right side 6:00. I wanted a second opinion, went to another hospital, they wanted to biopsy FOUR sites, when I got they there, they added TWO more sites! For a total of six! I had both types of biopsies done, ultrasound and stereotactic. Needless to say, it was a LONG day.

    DCIS found in right at 6:00…the “watch” site! When the first hospital wanted to biopsy the wrong thing and wanted to “watch” the now-known-cancer, I thought, because I was a slacker, and because they had nothing to compare anything to, why WOuLDNT they want to biopsy the thing they want to watch?

    While this is not not a symptom, it was a gut feeling. We women have these gut intuitions, we need to run with them. If I hadn’t, who knows when the hell I would have been diagnosed!

    Thanks Tracey!

    Like

  3. Tracey says:

    Sooooo glad you went with your gut, Sarah, and got that second opinion.
    I can’t believe they wouldn’t’ve wanted to biopsy and make sure they weren’t looking at a possibly invasive cancer. Some hospitals/doctors amaze me with their nonchalant attitude. 😦
    And you are so right…us women DO ‘know’.

    I remember just after I had my thyroid ablated, I wasn’t feeling ‘right’. I suffered in silence for a few weeks, then finally became so worried that I called the doctors office and asked if they would set me up with a halter EKG.
    They wanted me to go in and see them so I mentioned it to hubby who immediately thought I was ‘over-reacting’. But he agreed to go in with me that afternoon. Two EKG’s later, the doctor came into the room and asked me to take 4 aspirin she had with her. I asked if everything was ok, and she replied ‘the paramedics are on their way, I think you are having a heart attack’.
    I swear you could’ve knocked hubs (and me) down with a feather….
    Turns out it wasn’t a heart attack, but I now have an abnormal heart rhythm according to the follow up stress echo test…I should probably get a second opinion on that.
    But after that episode, the hysterectomy due to Adenomyosis and now the breast cancer, hubs has learned to take my ‘concerns’ seriously.

    Like

  4. Baby Santa says:

    Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

