Quitting Smoking With The Equate Nicotine Transdermal Patches – week one!!

If you read my previous post, you’ll know I finally decided to quit smoking.
This will be attempt #3 with the patches, but I’m determined it is going to work this time. Third times a charm, 3 is my lucky number…etc;

So how is it going so far?….actually, it’s going GREAT!!

I put my first patch on last Saturday night, right before bed.
(I was afraid that if I left it until then next morning I would back down and.. ‘just have a quick ciggy’)
So, Sunday was the first no smoking day.
In the past, when I’ve tried quitting, I found myself constantly thinking about cigarettes, in one way or another.
I’d be thinking things like, ‘I don’t smoke anymore’ ‘I’ve gone 1.5 hours without cigarette’s’ or ‘right now I’d be going for a cigarette, but I’ve quit’
Whatever the thought’s were, cigarettes and smoking consumed them, all the time.

This time around, not so much. In fact, if I’m totally honest, I’ve barely thought about them at all.  I’ve found myself heading to the back door, out of habit  (as I answer the phone for example) but just go sit on the couch, or put the kettle on instead.

It has gone great, that’s no lie. But, I did hiccup a little.
Day one was a hard day, for personal reasons. By late evening I was pretty stressed, and in a bit of a hissy fit, I removed the patch and ended up smoking two cigarettes before bed.
Then I realized what an idiot I was, put on a new patch and started again.

Tuesday afternoon, I smoked the last cigarette I had.
Wednesday, my daughter came over for dinner, and although I didn’t want to smoke, and I wasn’t really thinking about smoking and certainly wasn’t craving a cigarette, for some reason I decided I had to sneak a drag of her cig as she left…just one….not that it was really sneaking, she handed it to me.
And that’s it….haven’t touched a cigarette in any way shape or form since then.
(It does help that I was the only smoker in the household….no temptation.)

So that’s where I am as of now.

As for the patches themselves.
On my first attempt, like 10 years ago or something, they were the old tan colored ones, (think band aid) and stayed stuck where you put them.
The second attempt, they’d changed them to the clear patches. Less like a band aid and more like a piece of thin plastic. Because they were more rigid than the originals, they didn’t mold to the curve of my arm and would peel up and eventually fall off. I had to put a bandaid over the patch to hold it in place.
(Kinda makes the whole ‘invisible’ bit redundant)
I figured this time there would be a happy medium of clear and flexibility, after all it’s been  a few years and I can’t have been the only person to have problems.
So what’s changed?…Nothing as far as the design!! same problems, same fix.

Although, I seem to have developed a little sensitivity to them. Where they’re applied, my skin becomes a little raised and it itches after a while…eeek!!!! 😦

But, on the bright side, they work! I’m not smoking…so I can put up with the annoyances for a while.
Oh, and apparently I’ve discovered I have tastebuds…who knew!!!

photo

This entry was posted in Misc. Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quitting Smoking With The Equate Nicotine Transdermal Patches – week one!!

  1. Sarah says:

    Way to go! It sounds like you are doing great! If I don’t talk to you sooner, good luck on the 18th. I’m T-2 days, and extremely anxious. Thanks to you, I know It will be a rough road, but I will get thru it! I was hoping to quit smoking during recovery. Won’t hurt to try….

    Keep up with the no smoking!!!!

    Sarah

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      Thanks Sarah,
      I’ll be thinking of you on Wednesday! Good luck!!
      Don’t forget to ask your surgeon for some ‘range of motion’ exercises, if you haven’t already.
      I never got told about them, learned all that on Breastcancer.org.
      I still can’t fully move my left arm.
      I’m 8 days and still going strong. 😉
      Give quitting a try, but don’t beat yourself up if you don’t make it. It’s going to be a stressful and emotional time….sometimes we need that little crutch to see us through 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

