How about some…. Salted Caramels?

I’ll never make it to ‘food blogger’ status.

Mainly because I’m terrible at following recipes.
If I do happen across a recipe that sounds super tasty, I always think of something the cook forgot to add (in my opinion).

In my kitchen, it’s more of a ‘I have a chicken breast, what can I do differently with it today?’ and then proceed to throw things together until it resembles a meal, and I never remember exactly what went into it.

But even if I could create/follow recipes, I still wouldn’t make it because,
I cannot photograph food. Period.
It doesn’t matter how beautiful, or mouthwatering the food looks on a plate.
By the time I have it pictured….a person is more likely to look away fast, than want to run out and buy the ingredients.

But recently, one of my daughters has been asking me for my recipes.
As her mom, I can’t just say ‘I don’t follow recipes, figure it out yourself’
So I’ve decided to add a ‘Recipes’ Category here on the blog, and though it may not be a regular daily/weekly/monthly feature. I will add one here and there as the mood takes me.

So, I will start with something simple, for those of you with a sweet tooth…

Salted Caramels!

salted caramels
(excuse the not so great, often blurred, one handed cellphone pics that will follow)

Ingredients:

1 cup brown sugar
1 stick + 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
4 tablespoons golden syrup
14oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Sea salt grinder.

Grease a 9x9x2 dish and line with parchment paper. Leave a 2 inch over hang on each side to help lift the caramel when cool.

In a deep heavy bottomed pan add all the ingredients EXCEPT the vanilla.
(I use my stainless steamer/spaghetti pan)

ingredients

Over a low heat, stir ingredients until the sugar has dissolved.
DO NOT BOIL!!!
This will take about 10 to 15 minutes.

mixcaramelWhen the sugar is melted, increase the heat a little and bring to a simmer (not boil) and stir constantly until the mixture thickens and begins to pull away from the sides of the pan.
10 – 15 minutes.
I find (on my stove top) that once it is simmering, I reduce the heat again and it will stay at the simmer stage throughout. (and avoid splattering me with this molten lava like stuff)
Each stove is different tho, so you may have to increase/reduce the heat a few times during this stage.

bubblingalmost readyWhen the mixture is thick and it’s pulling away from the sides constantly, remove from the heat and quickly stir in the vanilla.
Pour into the prepared dish/pan. Sprinkle the top with some sea salt (or omit the salt if it’s not your thing) and set aside to cool.

in dish
When cooled, place in the refrigerator for a few hours to harden.
When ready, remove the caramel from the dish and using a buttered chefs knife cut into small squares.
Enjoy!

P.S. For easy clean up. Bring some water to a boil in the pan, add a little dish liquid and put the lid on. After a minute or two, remove the lid and ladle the hot water over the caramel that is still stuck to the sides, it should come off easy.
When the sides are clean, empty the pan and wash in warm soapy water.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How about some…. Salted Caramels?

  1. sacha says:

    Awesome!! Thanks 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

