How about some – Chocolate Banana Nut Cookies?

There are three things that prevent me from baking sweet stuff, on a regular basis.

#1 Hubby has type 2 diabetes and is cursed with an extremely sweet tooth.
#2 *I* don’t have a sweet tooth.
#3 I don’t like baking sweet stuff.

So, because of #2 and #3, I like quick and easy recipes.
along the lines of, If I have to do this, I want it over with fast!!
If there’s ever a time I’m going to get my kitchen (and me) covered in flour, and have a ton of pot washing to do, I’m reserving that for pies, pasty’s and savory foods I do like eating.
(I know…I’m a selfish cook)
But there are times when you have to make it look (and taste) like you put a ton of effort into baking something…right?
Of course!
So here’s a recipe for ‘a tad more effort than using a regular packet cookie mix’ cookies.

ingredients12 medium over ripe bananas
(the kind that scream ‘why bother buying us in the first place’)
1 devils food cake mix
1 stick of butter (softened)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350

Put bananas, butter and vanilla in your mixing bowl and beat well until well blended.
(I didn’t add a photo of this because it really looks gross!!)

Next add the cake mix, a little at a time.
totally cool spatular

batter

mix

Now, if you (like me) have just had chest surgery, you may find mixing this well (by hand) can prove to be a little difficult (and is probably against doctors orders)..so I used the dough attachment that came with my mixer…
hook(ignore that pack of Tahoe cookies in the background…they are my one ‘sweet’ guilty pleasure…and I hide them from everyone)

Next, I always line my baking sheet with parchment paper…(I’m weird like that, but you do whatever is usual for you.)
Spoon blobs of the cookie dough onto the baking sheet and bake for 12 to 15 minutes.
dough
After removing from the oven, allow them to cool on the sheet for a few minutes before placing them on a cooling rack.
(or they’ll fall apart like nobody’s business)

cookies
Pour yourself a cup of coffee and enjoy!!

Adapted from an insidebrucrewlife recipe.

http://insidebrucrewlife.com/2013/03/banana-caramel-cookies/

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How about some – Chocolate Banana Nut Cookies?

  1. sacha says:

    Hope you saved some for Saturday 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

