A Day of Photo’s and Flowers…

Today was a lazy day…..at least for me. Hubby on the other hand was working hard on my Peace garden. aka my veggie garden. We’ve decided that a circular vegetable garden with stepping stones would be perfect. And the stepping stones (yet to be purchased) will form the peace symbol.
I’ll have to post photos when it’s completed. That’s provided my Black Thumb doesn’t appear, in the meantime.
However there are some plants, bushes and trees that have avoided my ‘black thumb syndrome’ and so I spent the afternoon photographing them.

First the Azalea bush, such a pretty delicate pink flower….

Azalea Azaleaand the Rhododendron, so vivid compared to the Azalea.

Rhododendron bud Rhododendron Rhododendron budsThis was still the Rhododendron, but I’m not sure what stage it is in…pre bud?
I found it interesting though, kind of like strips of leather hanging….

Rhododendron
 I came across a wild flower growing at the side of our house. I’d never seen it growing here before, but I’m not disappointed, its actually quite pretty. I had to Google it and find it’s name.
Star of Bethlehem….

Star of Bethlehem Star of Bethlehem Star of Bethlehem Star of Bethlehem Star of Bethlehem

Of course, this time of the year, at our house, you can’t help but notice the beautiful fragrance of the Honeysuckle (even if my cat loving daughter say’s it smells like cat pee)..

Honeysuckle Honeysuckle Honeysuckle

I spotted a lonesome Periwinkle under one of our Pine trees.

Periwinkle
And talking of trees…..

A few years ago we purchased two Japanese Maple saplings, apparently the deer here think they are totally yummy, and when we weren’t watching, they ATE them 😦
My hubby decided to put a guard around the remaining one pretty sorry looking shoot.
And this year…I was soooo excited to see that it is finally starting to grow..

Japanese Red maple
Our Peartree has something growing out of it too….new Pearbranch shoots perhaps?

Peartree trunk
There was a tree that I have no idea what it was, but my lens would just not focus on the blossom buds. As I was about to give up, I noticed the shadow on one of it’s leaves…kinda reminded me of the Molecular Model from Science class……

Shadow

This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

