An Impromptu visit ~ Gettysburg …..

Back in 2009, we were traveling back from a wedding in Virginia, and we spotted the road signs for Gettysburg.
I’d never been there, so hubby decided it was definitely worth a quick stop.
Almost sunset meant we had to move fast if I was going to get any photos.
(Remember I’m the person who has still not mastered manual camera settings)
When I say it was a flying visit, I’m not kidding.
We must’ve toured the battlefields and monuments in record time.
Hubby drove and every now and then, I’d be like ‘stop, I want a photo”,  I’d jump out the car, snap a few pics, then off we’d go again.
We plan to go back, hopefully this summer, and spend a lot more time there.

Here’s a few photo’s from that evening.

Pennsylvania Memorial

Pennsylvania Memorial

The ceiling inside the memorial

The ceiling inside the memorial

Monument to Battery A ,of the 1st New Jersey Artillery

Monument to Battery A ,of the 1st New Jersey Artillery

8th Pennsylvania Cavalry Regiment

8th Pennsylvania Cavalry Regiment

State of Alabama Monument

State of Alabama Monument

Brigadier General  Gouverneur Kemble Warren

Brigadier General
Gouverneur Kemble Warren

Little Round Top

View of Devil’s Den from Little Round Top

These sweet ladies were more than happy to let me take their photograph.

In civil war era dress

In civil war era dress

Gettysburg1

Sunset on the battlefield

Sunset on the battlefield

Sunset over Gettysburg Battlefields

Sunset over Gettysburg Battlefields

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Impromptu visit ~ Gettysburg …..

  1. Sacha says:

    I would love to take the boys there this year 🙂

    Like

  2. Kathy Samuel says:

    Your sunset on the battlefield is beautiful. Lucky you stopped to visit!

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      Thank you Kathy. That one ended up being my favorite from that evening.
      We’d actually stopped to take a photo of one of the monuments, a little to the right of the tree, when I decided I liked the tree and the fence line better. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

