Rural Decay – The Old Barn

Have you ever been driving down the road, and spotted someone in another car, with their camera or cellphone squished up against the windscreen, or hanging out the side window happily snapping away?
Well that would be me!
I know, not the right way to go about it, but I just can’t help myself.
And I don’t necessarily have a subject in mind while taking the pics.
I guess it’s really a case of ‘point and shoot’ and hoping for the best.
You never know what you are missing.

The photo I’m posting here, isn’t quite a happy accident, I did intend for it to be the subject matter, on this particular occasion, but it was during one of those ‘episodes’.

It was taken a couple of years ago, while we were traveling home from one of our grandsons birthday parties.
As I was clicking away at hay bales in a field, hills in the distance etc; I spotted this barn and silo looking pretty run down.
And I kind of like things that look old and weathered, I think it makes them much more interesting.
Well we were almost on top of it when I decided I just had to snap a quick photo.
Although I’m not too unpleased with the result, I wish I’d actually got hubby to stop, so I could’ve composed the shot better, but hindsight is 20/20 right?

I decided to play around with a few photoshop actions, but couldn’t decide which one I liked the best, so I decided to post all four. The original first, then the three ‘played with’ pics.

Here's the original

Here’s the original

I used the FauxHDRIII action by Graffi on this one. I think it really gives it a little something.

I used the FauxHDRIII action by Graffi on this one.
I think it really gives it character….but maybe a little too much???

I ran Nelly Nero's Palumanus action, along with the HDR.

So I ran Nelly Nero’s Palumanus action, along with the HDR. I liked how it toned it down a bit and the vintage look it gave.

I had to post at least one Black and White. The action used here is another of Nelly Nero's, called 'Cynic'

I had to post at least one Black and White.
The action used here is another of Nelly Nero’s, called ‘Cynic’

This entry was posted in Photography, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

