Up Close – With The Tomato Hornworm Caterpillar

Im sad 😦
Not the boohoo kind of sad!
More the angry/frustrated kind of sad.

For the first time ever, I was finally managing to grow something.
My little veggie garden was coming along fabulously.
I was harvesting Zucchinis, peppers and tomatoes.
And I was extremely proud of myself, I might add.

That was until those unpredictable Pennsylvania temperatures decided to take a huge nose dive and dip way below the 50’s this past week.
Result = dying/dead tomato plants.

toms
And if that wasn’t bad enough, along came this little (big) fella.
The Tomato Hornworm Caterpillar….
Nasty little critter!

©hornwormSee all those cotton bud like things all over him?
That’s natures way of kicking butt…..wasp eggs!
So after Mr Hornworm and co. have happily feasted themselves on those prized tomato plants of yours, or in this case, mine, the little wasps hatch out of those cotton like cocoons, and feast on him.
Then they buzz off (pun intended) and go lay eggs on the next tomato hornworm.

Now that’s what I call Karma 😉

Let’s take a closer look

©hornworm2This guy has got one serious case of the U.G.L.I.E.S!!!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Up Close – With The Tomato Hornworm Caterpillar

  1. Kathy Samuel says:

    Sorry about your tomato plants, but luckily nature gets things right in the end! Really great macro that last shot!

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      Thanks Kathy.
      It was a bad summer for tomatoes, my daughter lost all hers too. Apparently our temps plummeted to freezing, in August.
      Probably unheard of, but typical it would be the one year *I* decide to grow veggies 😦

      Like

  2. 😦 But great photos! How disappointing!

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      Thanks Cybele, I guess I can look at the bright side of it all. If the tomato plants were healthy, I would never have seen this little fellow.
      And there’s always next year……sigh!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

