What’s the Buzz?…….

The weather has been pretty nice this past week…I think we have even seen 70 degrees here and there, and this weekend promises even higher temps 🙂

So, I have been taking full advantage, and getting outside with my camera as much as possible.
And I haven’t even been picky on what to photograph.
Whether it be a peony starting to poke up out of the ground, or our winter coat shedding goat, I’ve been snapping away like a crazy person.

But anyhoo … the other afternoon, I was sat reviewing photos I had taken earlier in the day, when I heard a weird buzzing sound.
I sat and listened, trying to figure out what it was, before going to investigate.
Then curiosity got the better of me.

I stepped out the front door…it was like the scene from the Amityville Horror, you know the one…where the priest is trying to bless the house, and the flies are swarming around the window.
There was hundreds of flies all over the siding of our house and on the front step, apparently warming themselves on the light surfaces.
They would literally flop their bellies on the ground, then fly off for a second, then come back and do it all over again.
Normally I would be kinda grossed out by the sight of so many, but not this time.
I decided to grab my camera and try and get a few pics.
They didn’t seem bothered by my presence at all.

Bugs-9This was only a few of them.

Bugs-7You can see in this photo how they were ‘warming their bellies’ on the stone.

Bugs-5-4Ugly…
With this shot I took a fellow bloggers advice, and used my telephoto lens to get a macro shot, instead of using my dedicated macro….and I actually got much better results.
Thanks for the tip Kathy Samuel 🙂
(Click her name to read the post)

Bugs-2You think I was being watched?  😉

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s the Buzz?…….

  1. Kathy Samuel says:

    I’m so pleased you tried the telephoto lens!! You managed to get some really great detail in that shot!!
    Can’t believe you have so many flies already. We usually get swarms like that in the summer – please keep them!!

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      The telephoto lens worked a treat, especially as swarming flies are vey difficult to capture at the best of times. I found most of the photos I tried taking with the macro were too blurred.
      I’ll admit, I’ve never seen this many flies in my life. I think that’s why I was fascinated with them.
      Unfortunately, I don’t think they’ll be going anywhere soon. Our Amish neighbors just started a dairy farming business, on our doorstep (not an exaggeration) I think the manure has attracted them 😦

      Like

  2. lol! great shots of the little buzzers!

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    When you say they are “warming their bellies”, the pic you took makes them seem, I don’t know, more acceptable??? Like they are just living life like we all are.

    And your “ugly” pic, that is a great shot. Just a dude trying to get through the day, like everyone else. He doesn’t seem so bad…maybe because he is not caught between my window and the screen! 🙂

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      Hello stranger!! How are you doing?
      Luckily, we had just a couple of fly mania days and then nothing like it since.
      I know what you mean about them at the windows….I don’t like flies in the house..at all.
      They are annoying, but I much prefer these ones, to fruit flies.
      We bought a zapper thing last year, like an electrified tennis racket…that was FUN!! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

