I made baby shower cookies….

I should rephrase…not only did I make baby shower cookies, I decorated them too.
And to those of you, who are talented enough to think of this as a ‘no big deal’, let me tell you, for me, it was HUGE.

I have only ever decorated cookies once before.
This was the result….
1st attempt cookiesNot pretty…..not pretty at all!
And the camo effect was an afterthought …after I thought there was even the slightest chance I could pull this off.

So, four years later, after I recovered from that trauma, I decide to try again, for my youngest daughters baby shower.
Yes! I know, I’m a glutton for punishment.

But this time, I had the secret weapon that I didn’t have four years ago….Pinterest!!!
Even better than that, a link to Amber Spiegel’s web page, and her awesome tutorials.

After reading a few of her tutorials, purchasing her cookie and icing recipes, and watching her videos on youtube, I was armed and ready…with icing bags that is.
And here is the results.

Shower cookiesAfter decorating the baby bassinet cookies, and loving how cute they turned out, I decided to break out that onesie cookie cutter and see if I could do better than last time.
I think it’s safe to say I did  ‘much better’, without sounding big headed.

shower cookies 2I also tried baby faces and hearts.
( I was certainly on a cookie decorating kick!)

My daughter couldn’t believe I had made them, and I got so many compliments from the shower guests.
So a HUGE Thank You!! To Amber of *sweetambs.com*
for sharing her talent, and making me feel like a superstar at my daughters baby shower.

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Photography, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I made baby shower cookies….

  1. Buttermilk says:

    These are amazing! Just from looking at the pictures, I would have thought you have been decorating cookies for years!

    Like

    • Tracey says:

      Thank you 🙂 I still can’t believe how relatively easy they were to decorate, once you know what you are supposed to be doing.
      I’ll certainly never buy the ready made icings again. (thats what I used on the first ones I made)

      Like

Leave a Reply

